Frugal Chic Series: Shop Well

Stylish dressing is not as difficult of a feat as some may think- in fact, it is quite easy to hone and own your own look. As a woman on a budget, and a small one at that, I can’t afford the latest and greatest from my favorite big-name brands, so I’ve restructured my purchasing habits to maximize my closet’s potential. Over the last few years I’ve learned a few valuable lessons on how to achieve frugal chic without looking cheap.  A small budget is no excuse to fill ones closet to the brim with fast and cheap fashion – you can, indeed, build a beautiful, unique, and stylish wardrobe that won’t bankrupt you. This series is going to highlight some of the best ways to dress stylishly on a budget and highlight some practical things you can do to keep your closet looking beautiful without maxing out your credit card.

S&S shop well

      I frequently shop at retailers that offer really great products at prices that fit more easily into my budget, and I don’t just mean your typical retailers either. Over time I have located and frequented consignment shops and other resale stores to score some fantastic clothing and accessories for a fraction of the sticker price (I’m talking Rebecca Minkoff bags for $30-$60 a piece).  In addition to my consignment/thrift store digging, which I absolutely LOVE, I also tend to shop at stores that have off-season items, last-season items or discontinued styles.  If you frequent the right places, you can end up finding those pieces that you’ve wanted for ages but couldn’t justify paying sticker price for.

      TJ Maxx has become one of my recent obsessions, especially since I now live near a really great one that even has a runway section.  I will admit that not all TJ Maxxes are created equal, but searching for one that frequently gets the types of clothes you really want is totally worth it.

Websites worth checking out:

Some of my most loved deals:

DSC_0030

Rebecca Minkoff rabbit fur bag, NWT, $57

20131104-091036.jpg

Loeffler Randall handbag, NWT, $40

 

Stuart Weitzman flats, $35

Stuart Weitzman flats, $35

DSC_0043

DVF handbag, NWT via TJ Maxx, $189

 

 

Stay tuned for the rest of the series.  If you know a really great budget-friendly place for fashionistas to shop, drop a line in the comments below!

XOXO,

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Insta Magic!

    Scored some goodies at the New Moon Party hosted by @purreboutique and @littleshopofoils 😍🌙🔮 Saturdays are for tanning and reading 🤘 And the hiking tradition continues 😀 Happy #InternationalWomensDay ✌❤🤘
  • Disclosure:

    Sugar & Shine is a part of several affiliate advertising programs. This means that if you click and/or make a purchase through certain links on this site or any related social media platforms (including Twitter, Facebook and Pinterest), I may make a commission from that click and/or purchase. All opinions are my own.
  • © 2013 All rights reserved
